International Council of Two Spirit Societies

International Council of Two Spirit Societies (ICTSS) began with an initial organizational meeting at the 2015 Montana Two Spirit Gathering.  Representatives from Two Spirit societies and groups who were members of the National Confederacy of Two Spirit Societies met together to formally dissolve the confederacy and create a new more inclusive organization.  “The confederacy was flawed without any formal operating procedures and excluded Canadian Two Spirit groups.  We wanted to move forward and be inclusive of all the Two Spirit groups regardless of the colonial border.  The US-Canadian border is form a colonialism not originally recognized by the indigenous tribes on this continent,” stated Raven Heavy Runner, Blackfeet, one of the leaders of the Northwest Two Spirit Society.

All new members of the ICTSS require sponsorship by a present member.  The sponsor will instruct the new applicants on the rest of the membership process.  There are two types of memberships available.  The primary membership is for Two Spirit/LGBTQ groups.  Only the ICTSS group members through their representatives will vote on any decisions.

Secondary memberships are for individuals called Individual Associate members.   The individual affiliate membership was created to include several types of folks.  One type are Two Spirit individuals who don’t have a local Two Spirit Society to join; another type are individuals who are elders but may not actively participate in a Two Spirit group but are recognized as highly valued for the wisdom and knowledge of their experience; and a third type of individuals are those who are allies but not necessarily LGBTQ2 or even indigenous but who have tirelessly given their time efforts with Two Spirit is support organizations.

The ICTSS members as of July 2016 include the following:

1 Seattle, WA Northwest Two-Spirit Society Raven Heavy Runner
Hiram Calf Looking
2 Browning, MT Montana Two-Spirit Society Steven Barriors David Herrara
3 Bay Area American Indian Two Spirits Roger Kuhn, Chairman
SF & Oakland area Derek Smith, Secretary
Aidan Dunn
4 Two-Spirit Society of Indian Canyon Kanyon Sayers-Roods
Indian Canyon, CA Zephyr Elise
5 East Coast Two Spirit Society OmiSade Yemaya
New York Atlantic Region Ben Geboe
Sheldon Reymore
6 Texas Two Spirit Society Barry Layton
Dallas Fort Worth area Darla Harrison
7 Idaho Two-Spirit Society Aiden Warrior
Boise-Ft Hall Spirit Wildcat
8 City of Angels Two Spirit Society Hudson Tibbets, co-chair
Los Angeles, CA Rachel Fernandez, co-chair
Gabriel Estrada, Sec
9 Indiana Two-Spirit Society Nathan Steininger
Indianapolis, IN
10 Central Oklahoma Two Spirit Society Corey Taber
Oklahoma City, OK Teddye Compton
11 Tulsa Two-Spirit Society John Hawk Co-cke’
Tulsa, OK Joey Criddle
12 Wichita Two-Spirit Society Pam Hursh-Harjo
Wichita, KS Brent Kennedy
Cathy Gilespie
13 Portland’s Indigenous Two Spirits Candi Brings Plenty
Portland, OR Asa Wright
14 #2SYEG No Facebook page James Makokis
Edmonton, Alberta Ed Lavallee
15 Wabanaki Two Spirit Alliance John Sylliboy
Canadian Atlantic region Tuma Young
16 Saskatoon Two Spirit Society, Inc. Niya Socopo
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
17 Two-Spirited People of Manitoba Inc. Albert McLeod
Winnipeg, Manitoba Peetanacoot Nenakawekapo